Cartels

“MEXICO-DRUGS/" by Claudio Toledo is licensed under CC BY 2.0

West Valley College Library Books

_____________________________________________________________________________

The Bullet or the Bribe by Ron Chepesiuk
Call Number: HV5840.C7 C44 2003
ISBN: 0275977129
Publication Date: 2003-10-30
For more than 20 years, the Cali cartel saturated U.S. streets with cocaine, ruining neighborhoods and lives while reaping millions in cash. Efforts to combat the influx of drugs from Colombia were often stymied by the careful organization and execution of the drug trade. Through the use of bribery, terrorist structures, and legitimate business practices, the cartel rose to become a serious threat to Colombian society's fragile stability, while providing over 70% of the world's cocaine to various markets. It took more than two decades and a global effort, spearheaded by U.S. law enforcement, to topple this notorious criminal organization. The rise and fall of one of Colombia's most notorious drug cartels is a story of how organized crime can function at the most sophisticated levels, yet still be taken down by the very forces it seeks to evade.
The Three U. S. -Mexico Border Wars by Tony Payan; Maureen and Mike Mansfield Center (Foreword by)
Call Number: HV5831.M46 T49 2006
ISBN: 9780275988180
Publication Date: 2006-06-30
Illuminates the connection among homeland security policies, drug laws, and illegal immigration at the U.S.-Mexico border, and reveals the consequences for American society at large.

West Valley College Library Subscription Databases

_____________________________________________________________________________

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

**All videos from Films on Demand have closed captioning and transcripts.**

Colombia: Cocaine's Battleground (Full Video 01:00:00)
(Summary) "This documentary reveals just how divisive the 40-year Colombian civil war has become. It ventures behind government spin and FARC guerilla secrecy to interview army commanders, public officials, Colombian journalists, drug cartel paramilitaries, and ordinary citizens who are literally caught in a crossfire. Testimonials from impoverished farmers—who have essentially no other options than to grow coca—clearly show that in a country producing 80 percent of the world’s cocaine, peace will come only after radical social change and a major reduction in global consumption of the drug."
Narco State - (Full Video 50:01)
(Summary) "America’s insatiable demand for drugs is fueling a bloody war along its southern border that may be spilling over onto U.S. soil. A battle for the control of Mexico is raging. Rival drug cartels clash over access to the U.S.—one of the planet’s most lucrative drug markets—using murder, beheadings, torture, and kidnappings to achieve their goals. Drug-related murders in the first half of 2009 surpassed casualty numbers in Iraq over the same period. Meanwhile, Mexican cartels have a presence in some 230 U.S. cities and towns. If the U.S.-Mexico border represents little more than a line on a map for the cartels’ drug trafficking networks, what is to say that the destabilizing violence that plagues Mexico won’t spill over into the U.S. as well? Narco State takes you to the front lines of Mexico’s drug wars to analyze the root causes of the violence and investigate the specter of spillover. Tracking the flow of drugs north and the flow of money and firepower south, the program also examines whether government policy on both sides of the border is contributing to the problem."
TEDTalks: The Deadly Genius of Drug Cartels (Full Video 17:52)
(Summary) "Up to 100,000 people died in drug-related violence in Mexico in the last 6 years. We might think this has nothing to do with us, but in fact we are all complicit, says Yale professor Rodrigo Canales in this unflinching talk that turns conventional wisdom about drug cartels on its head. The carnage is not about faceless, ignorant goons mindlessly killing each other but is rather the result of some seriously sophisticated brand management."

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID. Visit the New York Times LibGuide for instructions on how to set up your account.

After 78 Killings, a Honduran Drug Lord Partners With the U.S.
(Intro) "The number of murders the Honduran drug lord admitted to orchestrating over 10 years was stunning. The dead included people he described as killers, rapists and gang members. Then there were the innocents: a lawyer, two journalists, a Honduran refugee in Canada, an official who was serving as Honduras’s antidrug czar and a politician who became his adviser; there were even two children caught in a shootout. In all, the drug lord, Devis Leonel Rivera Maradiaga, said that, working in concert with drug traffickers and others, he had “caused” the deaths of 78 people — a number that posed a dilemma for United States officials when Mr. Rivera came to them offering to expose high-level corruption in this Central American nation of some nine million people."
Drug That Killed Prince Is Making Mexican Cartels Richer, U.S. Says
(Intro) " The drug that killed Prince has become a favorite of Mexican cartels because it is extremely potent, popular in the United States — and immensely profitable, American officials say. Law enforcement and border authorities in the United States warn that Mexican cartels are using their own labs to produce the drug, fentanyl, as well as receiving shipments from China. Then the cartels distribute the substance through their vast smuggling networks to meet rising American demand for opiates and pharmaceuticals."
El Chapo’s Claims of Improper Extradition Are Dismissed
(Intro) "A federal judge in Brooklyn dismissed claims on Friday that Joaquín Guzmán Loera, the Mexican drug lord best known as El Chapo, had been improperly extradited to the United States from Mexico, handing the defendant the latest in a string of legal defeats."

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

Use two more of the subject terms below in Academic Search Complete to give you more resources on the same topics as the articles below:

Cartels
Drug control
Drug traffic
Gang violence
Law enforcement
Mexico -- Foreign relations -- United States
Organized crime

Drugs, Violence, and Corruption: Perspectives from Mexico and Central America.
Guns, Drugs, and La Barbie: Why America is Responsible for Mexican Drug Cartels
(Abstract) "After the arrest this week of one of Mexico's most ruthless drug lords, "La Barbie," media coverage has highlighted his American-born, football star origins. But the kingpin is the product of America in a more profound way: We are morally responsible for his career. Indeed, we are culpable for the rise of all the Mexican drug cartels, whose $39 billion criminal enterprise has led to more than 23,000 deaths since 2006, and brought a fledgling democracy to its knees."
The Last Kingpin
(Abstract) "he article focuses on the Mexican drug lord Joaquín Archivaldo Guzmán Loera or El Chapo, who has been punish at the Manhattan Metropolitan Correctional Center in New York City. It highlights the tensions between U.S. and Mexican law enforcement agencies following the capture of El Chapo. It also notes that El Chapo was convicted to murderous corruption and drug trafficking in Mexico."
Reflections on Cartel Enforcement
(Abstract) "The article reflects on cartel enforcement laws of the American Bar Association Section of Antitrust Law in the U.S. It discusses the Corporate Leniency Program of the U.S. Department of Justice. It also discusses the changes in the efforts of international policymakers and the U.S. to prevent anticompetitive conduct."

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

Credo Reference: Mind Map - "Cartels"
Use the mind map from Credo to find related topics and sub-topics about "Cartels". Click on each spoke of the mind map to uncover resources in the right-hand nav.
Global Issues in Context: Reading List about Cartels
A collection of global viewpoints, podcasts, videos, scholarly articles, news articles, magazine articles, and reference sources on Cartels. This reading list does not focus on one cartel, but rather a wide scope into cartels and cartel behaviors.

Web Sources

_____________________________________________________________________________

Podcasts
Government Agencies

NPR - "Mexican Cartels Push Meth Beyond U.S. Market

(Description) "At San Quentin Prison, the typical cell measures approximately 4’ x 9’ and contains a bunk bed, toilet, sink, two men, and their six cubic feet of belongings. In our first episode of Ear Hustle, hear stories of negotiating this space and the relationships that come with living in such close quarters."

Transcript of NPR - "Mexican Cartels Push Meth Beyond U.S. Market

NPR - 'The Money Was The Soft Spot': 'The Infiltrator' On Taking Down Pablo Escobar

(Description) "NPR's Robert Siegel talks to Robert Mazur, the federal agent who went undercover as a money launderer to take down the banks behind Pablo Escobar's Medellin Cartel. Bryan Cranston plays Mazur in the new movie, The Infiltrator, which dramatizes the years long operation."

Transcript of NPR - 'The Money Was The Soft Spot': 'The Infiltrator' On Taking Down Pablo Escobar

Homeland Security - "Fighting Central America’s Drug Cartels And Caring For Victims Of Violence"
(Intro) "Americans’ appetite for illegal drugs is one of the driving factors behind violent competition among drug cartels in Central America. Victims of that violence often seek refuge across the southern border of the U.S., but Homeland Security Secretary John Kelly says immigration policy north of Panama needs to change. He discusses plans to slow the flow of people from Central America entering the U.S."
United States Department of Justice - "‘Fact Sheet: Department of Justice Efforts to Combat Mexican Drug Cartels"
Listing of and descriptions of government agencies involved in locating, catching, and prosecuting members of various cartels.
United States Department of Justice - "Sinaloa Cartel Cell Leader Self-Surrenders"
(Intro) "A cell leader of the Sinaloa drug cartel was arraigned in federal court today following his self-surrender to U.S. law enforcement authorities at the Calexico West Port of Entry in California, on July 27."

Motorcycle, Prison, and Street Gangs: ADMJ 032: Cartels

Cartels

“MEXICO-DRUGS/" by Claudio Toledo is licensed under CC BY 2.0

West Valley College Library Books

West Valley College Library Subscription Databases

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

All videos from Films on Demand have closed captioning and transcripts.

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID. Visit the New York Times LibGuide for instructions on how to set up your account.

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

Web Sources

NPR - 'The Money Was The Soft Spot': 'The Infiltrator' On Taking Down Pablo Escobar

**All videos from Films on Demand have closed captioning and transcripts.**