Research Guides: Motorcycle, Prison, and Street Gangs: ADMJ 032: Motorcycle Gangs

Motorcycle Gangs

By Lee Brimelow from San Francisco Bay Area, USA (Hells Angels) [CC BY 2.0 ], via Wikimedia Commons

West Valley College Library Books

_____________________________________________________________________________

West Valley College Library Subscription Databases

_____________________________________________________________________________

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID. Visit the New York Times LibGuide for instructions on how to set up your account.

170 Bikers Charged in Waco, in a Rivalry Rooted in the 1960s
(Intro) "Waco, Tex. — In the denim-and-leather world of Texas motorcycle gangs, the Bandidos and the Cossacks are warring tribes in an unforgiving landscape. Both originated in Texas in the 1960s. But the Bandidos were first, in 1966, with the Cossacks forming in 1969. The Bandidos became the state’s biggest motorcycle group, but one that now tries to walk a fine line — declared by the government to be a criminal enterprise involved in the distribution of drugs, but also engaged in political advocacy on behalf of motorcyclists and activities like charity runs."
Nevada Justices Order New Trial for Biker Convicted of Killing Hells Angels Leader
(Intro) "Carson City, Nev. — The Nevada Supreme Court has ordered a new trial for a man convicted of murdering a Hells Angels leader in a 2011 shootout between rival motorcycle clubs at a Reno-area casino. The court’s ruling on Thursday overturned the conviction of Ernesto Gonzalez, 57, saying a District Court had abused its discretion by not answering a jury question about a conspiracy charge."

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

Use two more of the subject terms below in Academic Search Complete to give you more resources on the same topics as the articles below:

Motorcycle clubs
Motorcycle gangs
Organized crime
Outlaws -- United States

Roots of a Biker Battle (2015)
(Abstract) "The article discusses the historical aspects of an ongoing battle between American motorcycle clubs and gangs such as the Cossacks and the Bandidos which culminated in a shoot-out on May 17, 2015 in Waco, Texas which left nine people dead. The Confederation of Clubs motorcycle club event is mentioned, along with the elements of U.S. outlaw life which include brotherhood, hierarchy, and pride. The significance of various club logos, colors, and rockers (patches) are examined."
The Golden Years of Sonny Barger
(Abstract) "Highlights the life of Sonny Barger, founding father of the infamous motorcycle gang the Hell's Angels in the United States. Involvement in various felonies; Education while in prison; Typical day with wife Noel and adopted daughter Sarah; Account of the murder at the Altamont concert in 1969; Changes experienced through the years."
One Percent Bikers Clubs: A Description
(Abstract) "his paper, through an extensive literature review of biker websites, newspaper articles, popular books, the limited scholarly research, and court cases, as well as interviews and associations with law enforcement officers and 1% bikers, identifies and describes the major 1% biker clubs. The Big 5 clubs--Hell's Angels, Bandidos, Outlaws, Pagans, and Sons of Silence--are discussed. Their history, number of chapters in the United States and overseas, and a "best guess estimate" of membership numbers are also provided. Similar information is provided on the major independent 1% biker clubs--Warlocks, Mongols and Iron Horsemen. There is also a brief discussion of the role of puppet (support) clubs and the four black or interracial 1% biker clubs. This research, describing the clubs, is the first step needed to stimulate research on this under researched topic."

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

Global Issues in Context: Reading List about Motorcycle Gangs
A collection of global viewpoints, podcasts, videos, scholarly articles, news articles, magazine articles, and reference sources on the Motorcycle Gangs.
Global Issues in Context: Reading List about Hells Angels
A collection of global viewpoints, podcasts, videos, scholarly articles, news articles, magazine articles, and reference sources on Hells Angels.
Global Issues in Context: Reading List about the Mongols
A collection of global viewpoints, podcasts, videos, scholarly articles, news articles, magazine articles, and reference sources on the Mongols

Web Sources

_____________________________________________________________________________

NPR - The Two Way podcast, episode "Uneasy Rider: The Origins of Motorcycle Gangs and How They Remain a Source"

(Description) "A different form of transportation is at the heart of this next story. Last weekend's brawl involving biker gangs in Waco, Texas, has us thinking about motorcycle gang history. Steve Cook has learned it. He's a law enforcement officer who leads an association tracking motorcycle gangs. He traces them back to World War II veterans who staged a famous event in 1947."

Transcript of NPR - The Two Way "Uneasy Rider: The Origins Of Motorcycle Gangs And How They Remain A Force"

The Takeaway podcast episode "The Real Sons of Anarchy: Inside the World of Outlaw Motorcycle Gangs"

(Intro) "In the final season of the hit FX show "Sons of Anarchy," the lead character asks if every member of his biker gang is willing to die. While it's a stirring scene for a televised drama, that scenario was eerily similar to a real life incident that played out in Waco, Texas over the weekend."

Transcript of The Takeaway "The Real Sons of Anarchy: Inside the World of Outlaw Motorcycle Gangs"

ATF - "Outlaw Motorcycle Gang Member on the Run for 17 years Arrested in Mexico"
(Intro) "United States Attorney James L. Santelle announced that United States Marshals have arrested Randy Mark Yager, aka “Mad” (age: 58), in Mexico. In 1997, Yager fled after he was indicted in the Eastern District of Wisconsin. Yager was the ATF's Most Wanted Fugitive in 1997, and was placed on the United States Marshals 15 Most Wanted list in 2004."
CNN - "On the Road with the Mongols Motorcycle Club"
Photo collection of photo journalist Jason Willheim journey documenting the Mongols for 7 years.
Mercury News - "22 Vagos motorcycle gang members arrested in raids across Southern California"
(Intro) "Federal agents on Friday arrested 22 reputed members of the Vagos Motorcycle Club in the Inland Empire and elsewhere in Southern California – as well as Northern California and other states – accusing them of committing violence against rival gang members, and even their own, and building their territory through crime and intimidation."
Time - "5 Shocking Things I Learned as an Outlaw Biker"
(Intro) "Charles Falco infiltrated outlaw motorcycle gangs as an undercover agent."

FBI - "Mongols Motorcycle Gang Member Sentenced to Life in Prison for Murdering President of San Francisco Hells Angels"
(Intro) "SAN FRANCISCO—Christopher Bryan Ablett, a/k/a “Stoney,” a member of the Modesto Chapter of the Mongols outlaw motorcycle gang, was sentenced today to serve two concurrent life sentences and one life sentence to run consecutive, United States Attorney Melinda Haag announced. The sentence was imposed for the defendant’s gang-related murder of Mark “Papa” Guardado, the president of the San Francisco Chapter of the Hells Angels, on September 2, 2008 at 24th Street and Treat Avenue in the Mission District of San Francisco."
US Department of Justice - "Outlaw Motorcycle Gangs"
Includes a definition of motorcycle gangs and a slideshow of patches, members, and other activities from outlaw motorcycle gangs.
US Department of Justice - "Twenty-Three Alleged Vagos Outlaw Motorcycle Gang Members and Associates Indicted on Federal Racketeering Charges"
A federal indictment was unsealed today charging 23 alleged members and associates of the Vagos Outlaw Motorcycle Gang (OMG), including some of its most senior leaders, in a conspiracy involving racketeering, murder, robbery, kidnapping and aggravated assault, among other charges.