Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OneSearch: About OneSearch

When should I use OneSearch?

OneSearch is most helpful when you:

  • are looking for books or material, such as a calculator or textbooks, to check out from the Library
  • are looking for books to check out from Mission College
  • are exploring possible topics and want an idea of what's available
  • aren't sure which databases would be good for your topic
  • only want a few articles and don't need more sophisticated options found in individual databases
  • are curious about whether a broader search in more than one database turns up anything unexpected and interesting
  • are looking for the full text of an article for which you already have a citation; in these cases search for a distinctive phrase from the article title along with the author's last name.
  • want to search within a specific journal; in these cases start your search by selection Find Journal from the top of the page

When should I use an individual database?

OneSearch may not be helpful when you:

  • are conducting research for a specific subject, you may want to use one of our subject specific databases. These databases are typically more comprehensive, and may include useful search options for your research.
  • need information from a database that is not included in OneSearch.