Skip to main content

OneSearch: About OneSearch: About OneSearch

What is OneSearch?

West Valley One Search Logo

OneSearch is the place for finding books, articles, and more from the West Valley College Library. It enables streamlined access to resources provided by the Library by allowing you to search for print and digital content as a single search, rather than having to access different databases and systems. It also has an account feature that allows you to save lists of items, manage your renewals, and request items from West Valley College.

What am I searching with OneSearch?

With OneSearch you can search the following collections:

  • Articles, Books, and more – searches books and material from West Valley College, the online databases, and textbook reserves.
  • Books and Material at the Library – books, ebooks, DVDs, calculators, etc. owned by West Valley College, including course reserves.
  • Textbook Reserves – course related textbooks and material.

In addition, you can search the following collection to find books to request from Mission College:

  • Mission and West Valley Books – physical books at Mission College & West Valley College.

Does OneSearch replace the Library Catalog?

Yes, OneSearch replaces the Library Catalog,. To limit results to only items that would be found in the library catalog, select Books & Materials at the Library when starting your search , or use the limiter reading At Library on the left side of the results page.

Does OneSearch replace the Library's research databases?

No, OneSearch does is not a replacement for individual access to the online databases. They are still available on the Library's Databases page. OneSearch is another way to search the databases. It searches most of the Library’s research databases at the same time.

Which Databases are NOT included in OneSearch?

Databases that have some material in OneSearch, but not all