Research Guides: Artificial Intelligence (AI) : Future of AI

West Valley College Library Books

_____________________________________________________________________________

AI Needs You : How We Can Change AI's Future and Save Our Own

Fusion Strategy : how real-time data and AI will power the industrial future

AI Snake Oil : What Artificial Intelligence Can Do, What It Can’t, and How to Tell the Difference

Welcome to AI : A Human Guide to Artificial Intelligence

The Worlds I See : curiosity, exploration, and discovery at the dawn of AI

Machines That Think: The Future of Artificial Intelligence

Working with AI : Real Stories of Human-Machine Collaboration

Political Theory of the Digital Age : where artificial intelligence might take us by Mathias Risse

Artificial Intimacy: Viritual Friends, Digital Lovers and Algorithmic Matchmakers

T-Minus AI: Humanity's Countdown to Artificial Intelligence and the New Pursuit of Global Power

A Thousand Brains: A New Theory of Intelligence

Artificial Intelligence and the Future of Humanity

Co-Intelligence : living and working with AI

Automation and Collaborative Robotics: A Guide to the Future of Work

Artificial Intelligence and the Environmental Crisis

Machines Like Us : Toward AI with Common Sense.

Teaching with AI : A Practical Guide to a New Era of Human Learning

Unmasking AI : My Mission to Protect What Is Human in a World of Machines

WVC Library Subscription Databases

____________________________________________________________________________

To access the West Valley databases you must use your school email address. Instructions can be found here.

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

Click on the subjects above in the mind map above to narrow down a broad topic and see adjacent topics. Click on "View in Credo" to see article results.

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID. Visit the New York Times LibGuide for instructions on how to set up your account.

"Will Robots Really Destroy the Future of Work?" (2022 Opinon Piece) (Intro) "Some people on the political right love robots and hate labor unions. Some people on the political left are the opposite: They hate robots and love labor unions. Then there’s David Autor, a labor economist at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He loves both. Automation will destroy some jobs but also make workers who aren’t displaced more productive, raise overall incomes and create new kinds of jobs, says Autor, who has done pioneering work on the impact of tech and trade on blue-collar workers. Labor unions, which have been beaten down, can help ensure that the gains from automation don’t accrue only to the wealthy and that the new jobs workers move into are good and well-paying, he says."
Google Offers a More Modest Vision of the Future
I’m a Congressman Who Codes. A.I. Freaks Me Out.

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

AI – TODAY AND TOMORROW

A.I. Revolution Abstract A.I. tools like ChatGPT seem to think, speak and create like humans. But what are they really doing? From cancer cures to Terminator-style takeovers, leading experts explore what A.I. can--and can’t--do today, and what lies ahead. Miles O’Brien investigates how researchers are trying to transform the world using A.I., hunting for big solutions in fields from medicine to climate change.
AI Boom Explained
Artificial Intelligence and The Future of Work Abstract In this video, Professor Montealegre discusses how artificial intelligence and technology are changing the world of work, giving insight into the ways that AI is being used to optimize functions and processes in various sectors.
Can Artificial Intelligence Be Creative? Abstract Is AI capable of being creative, or is that a trait unique to humans?
Educators Worry About Students Using Artificial Intelligence To Cheat Abstract Earlier this month, New York City public schools blocked access to the popular artificial intelligence tool ChatGPT. Educators are concerned that students could use this technology to write papers – the tool wasn't even a month old when a college professor in South Carolina caught a student using it to write an essay in philosophy class. Darren Hick of Furman University joins John Yang to discuss.
Future of Artificial Intelligence
The World Ahead 2024: AI Rules Abstract In 2024, The focus on AI won't just be on what it can do, but how humans might control it. Some people are worried that if you impose strict rules too early, you stifle the technology. And other people are worried that if you don't move now, then there could be dangerous consequences.

Web Articles

_____________________________________________________________________________

Streaming Video

_____________________________________________________________________________

"Siri, Alexa, Google ... What comes Next?

How AI Can Bring On a Second Industrial Revolution

6 Big Ethical Questions About the Future of AI

Podcasts

_____________________________________________________________________________

WBUR On Point Transcripts for "Remarkable science: Exploring our AI and robot-supported future"

NPR Transcripts for "The Age Of Automation Is Now: Here's How To 'Futureproof' Yourself"

NPR - A.I. Nation "Humanity is at an inflection point. More and more decisions once made by people are being made by machines, often without transparency or accountability. A.I. Nation, a new podcast from WHYY and Princeton University, reveals how artificial intelligence is operating in the background, and sometimes foreground, of every major story, trend, and event in our modern lives. AI systems helped accelerate COVID-19 vaccine development, and saved lives by modeling pandemic response strategies. But Big Tech companies like Facebook, Amazon, and Alphabet, are also using hidden surveillance and sophisticated algorithms to predict our behavior and control our online experiences, often leading to digital echo chambers and an increasingly polarized society. A.I. Nation investigates how machine learning, automation, and predictive analytics are impacting our lives right now. Technologies once considered science fiction, like facial recognition, predictive policing, driverless vehicles (and drones), and language-generating computer systems are already here. The podcast will also consider how we, as digital citizens, can protect ourselves from the inherent bias in these systems, and work towards fairness and social justice. Join reporter Malcolm Burnley and Princeton University Computer Science Professor Ed Felten as they examine and explain AI's growing influence in our lives, and forecast the role it'll play in our future."

Artificial Intelligence (AI) : Future of AI

Future of AI

West Valley College Library Books

WVC Library Subscription Databases

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID. Visit the New York Times LibGuide for instructions on how to set up your account.

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

Web Articles

Streaming Video

"Siri, Alexa, Google ... What comes Next?

How AI Can Bring On a Second Industrial Revolution

6 Big Ethical Questions About the Future of AI

Podcasts

Qualcomm CEO Says AI and VR Are Future of Business

A.I. Nation

Know It All: What AI actually is and how it’s shaping the future