Research Guides: Artificial Intelligence (AI) : AI in Healthcare

West Valley College Library Books

_____________________________________________________________________________

Deep Medicine: How Artificial Intelligence can Make Healthcare Human Again

WVC Library Subscription Databases

____________________________________________________________________________

To access the West Valley databases you must use your school email address. Instructions can be found here.

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

"Teaching Computers to Read Health Records is Helping Fight COVID-19 – Here's How " "The sheer volume of information contained in health records is staggering. Every day, healthcare staff in a typical NHS hospital generate so much text it would take a human an age just to scroll through it, let alone read it. Using computers to analyse all this data is an obvious solution, but far from simple. What makes perfect sense to a human can be highly difficult for a computer to understand. Our team is using a form artificial intelligence to bridge this gap. By teaching computers how to comprehend human doctors’ notes, we’re hoping they’ll uncover insights on how to fight COVID-19 by finding patterns across many thousands of patients’ records."

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID. Visit the New York Times LibGuide for instructions on how to set up your account.

"Here Come the Artificial Intelligence Nutritionists" (2022) "Companies are experimenting with personalized diet apps, saying the future of healthy eating is A.I."
"My Therapist, the Robot" (Opinion piece)

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

Subject terms to use in Academic Search Complete to give you more resources on the same topics as the articles below:

Holocaust (1939-1945)
Holocaust Survivors
War Victims
Concentration Camps
Holocaust Victims

Web Articles

_____________________________________________________________________________

Artificial Intelligence: A Disruptive Tool for a Smarter Medicine (Open Access) (Objective) " Although highly successful, the medical R&D model is failing at improving people’s health due to a series of flaws and defects inherent to the model itself. A new collective intelligence, incorporating human and artificial intelligence (AI) could overcome these obstacles. Because AI will play a key role in this new collective intelligence, it is necessary that those involved in healthcare have a general knowledge of how these technologies work. With this comprehensive review, we intend to provide it.
Artificial Intelligence in Healthcare: Past, Present and Future (Open Access) (Abstract) Artificial intelligence (AI) aims to mimic human cognitive functions. It is bringing a paradigm shift to healthcare, powered by increasing availability of healthcare data and rapid progress of analytics techniques. We survey the current status of AI applications in healthcare and discuss its future. AI can be applied to various types of healthcare data (structured and unstructured). Popular AI techniques include machine learning methods for structured data, such as the classical support vector machine and neural network, and the modern deep learning, as well as natural language processing for unstructured data. Major disease areas that use AI tools include cancer, neurology and cardiology. We then review in more details the AI applications in stroke, in the three major areas of early detection and diagnosis, treatment, as well as outcome prediction and prognosis evaluation. We conclude with discussion about pioneer AI systems, such as IBM Watson, and hurdles for real-life deployment of AI.
A Brief History of Artificial Intelligence and Robotic Surgery in Orthopedics & Traumatology and Future Expectations (Open Access) (Abstract) "Recently, the rate of the production and renewal of information makes it almost impossible to be updated. It is quite difficult to process and interpret large amounts of data by human beings. Unlimited memory capacities, learning abilities, artificial intelligence (AI) applications, and robotic surgery techniques cause orthopedic surgeons to be concerned about losing their jobs. The idea of AI, which was first introduced in 1956, has evolved over time by revealing deep learning and evolutionary plexus that can mimic the human neuron cell. Image processing is the leading improvement in developed algorithms. Theoretically, these algorithms appear to be quite successful in interpreting medical images and orthopedic decision support systems for preoperative evaluation. Robotic surgeons have emerged as significant competitors in carrying out the taken decisions. The first robotic applications of orthopedic surgery started in 1992 with the ROBODOC system. Applications started with hip arthroplasty continued with knee arthroplasty. Publications indicate that problems such as blood loss and infection caused by the long operation time in the early stages have been overcome in time with the help of learning systems. Comparative studies conducted with humans indicate that robots are better than humans in providing limb lengthening, patient satisfaction, and cost. As in all new technologies, the developments in both AI applications and robotics surgery indicate that technology is in favor in terms of cost/benefit analyses. Although studies indicate that new technologies are more successful than humans, the replacement of technology with experience and long-term results with traditional methods will not be observed in the near future."
An Invisible Hand: Patients Aren’t Being Told About the AI Systems Advising Their Care (Intro) "Since February of last year, tens of thousands of patients hospitalized at one of Minnesota’s largest health systems have had their discharge planning decisions informed with help from an artificial intelligence model. But few if any of those patients has any idea about the AI involved in their care."
Rise of Robot Radiologists From Scientific American "Deep-learning algorithms are peering into MRIs and x-rays with unmatched vision, but who is to blame when they make a mistake?"
Science Daily News Feed on AI Collection of articles on current AI news.

The American College of Radiology Data Science Institute (ASR DSI) (About Us) "The American College of Radiology Data Science Institute is collaborating with radiology professionals, industry leaders, government agencies, patients, and other stakeholders to facilitate the development and implementation of artificial intelligence (AI) applications that will help radiology professionals provide improved medical care."

US Dept of Veteran Affairs - National Artificial Intelligence Institute (NAII) (About Us) " The National Artificial Intelligence Institute (NAII) is the preeminent organization for artificial intelligence (AI) research, implementation, policy and collaboration at the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA)."

American Medical Informatics Association (AMIA) (About Us) "AMIA (American Medical Informatics Association) is a community committed to the vision of a world where informatics transforms people’s care. Over the last 35 years, the use of informatics has grown exponentially to improve health and to make better healthcare decisions. Today, informatics is the key to accelerating the current goals of healthcare reform."

Streaming Video

_____________________________________________________________________________

How we're using AI to discover new antibiotics

Podcasts

_____________________________________________________________________________

NPR Transcripts for "Artificial intelligence could soon diagnose illness based on the sound of your voice"

Transcripts for "Smarter health: How AI could change the relationship between you and your doctor"

Artificial Intelligence (AI) : AI in Healthcare

AI in Medicine

West Valley College Library Books

WVC Library Subscription Databases

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID. Visit the New York Times LibGuide for instructions on how to set up your account.

If you are off campus you will be required to login to the West Valley College Subscription Databases

using your last name and student ID.

Web Articles

Streaming Video

How we're using AI to discover new antibiotics

Podcasts