Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Anti-Racism Resources

Selected list of resources focusing on anti-racism as it concerns the Black community.

Articles // Letters // Reports

Coates, Ta-Nehisi. (June 2014). The Case for Reparations. The Atlantic.

Cobb, Jelani. (March 7, 2020). The Matter of Black Lives. The New Yorker.

The Combahee River Collective Statement (1977)*

Garza, Alicia. (October 7, 2014). A Herstory of the #BlackLivesMatter Movement. The FeministWire.

Grundy, Saida. (July 21, 2020). The False Promise of Anti-Racism Books. The Atlantic.

Jackson, Lauren M. (September 4, 2019). What's Missing from "White Fragility". Slate.

Kim, Michelle. (May 8, 2020). 20+ Allyship Actions for Asians to Show Up for the Black Community Right Now. Awaken.

King, M.L. (April 16, 1963). Letter from a Birmingham Jail. Martin Luther King Jr. Research & Education Institute, Stanford University.

Melaku, T.M. & Beeman, A. (June 25, 2020). Academia Isn't a Safe Haven for Conversations about Race and Racism. Harvard Business Review.

McCullough, Alishia. (June 8, 2020). The 7 circles of whiteness. Medium.

McIntosh, Peggy. (1988). White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack. SEED, Wellesley Centers for Women.

Shutack, Corinne. (September 2020). 103 Things White People Can Do for Racial Justice. Equality Includes You.

Todd, N.R. & Abrams, E.M. (2011). White Dialectics: A New Framework for Theory, Research, and Practice with White Students. The Counseling Psychologist.

Wing Sue, Derald (2011). The Challenge of White Dialectics: Making the "Invisible" Visible. The Counseling Psychologist.

 

*The Combahee River Collective was a Black feminist group in Boston whose name came from the guerilla action conceptualized and led by Harriet Tubman on June 2, 1863. The action freed more than 750 slaves and is the only military campaign in American history planned and led by a woman (from Home Girls: A Black Feminist Anthology by Barbara Smith, 2000).

Find books, articles, videos on your topic

OneSearch allows you to search for articles, books, streaming video and other content all at once. Please note that some of our database content is not included in OneSearch, so you may need to also search individual databases on the Find Articles (databases) page.

Here is a quick video on OneSearch:

The databases below are great for finding background knowledge on current issues: facts and figures, a brief timeline of an issue, pro/con opinions, and names of organizations to gather further information. Each of these databases has unique strengths. Please check all four to see what they have on your topic.

These databases can also be found listed on the library's Find Articles (databases) page.

Website iconCQ Researcher: Backgrounders that include statistics, pro/con opinions, maps/graphs, chronologies and linked references on a variety of topics. You have the ability to search a specific topic or browse a subject.


Website iconFacts on File: Issues and Controversies helps researchers understand the crucial issues we face today, exploring more than 800 hot topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture.


Website iconGlobal Issues in Context: Today's world issues from a global perspective.

 


Website iconPoint of View Reference Center: Covers 400 topics with a point/counterpoint to each.

Watch this 4.24 minute video on how to search Academic Search Complete. It is located on the WVC Library's Find Articles (databases) page:

The databases below give you access to documentaries, feature films, plays and historical news features. They are located on our  Find Articles (databases) page.

Instructors: individual videos can be embedded in Canvas classes.


 

Streaming Video icon Feature Films in Education - A collection of educational, blockbuster, animations, foreign, and classic films. Titles within the collection offer full public performance rights and copyright protection for curriculum classroom screenings.

Streaming Video icon Films on Demand - Academic, vocational, and life skills videos in Humanities and Sciences.

Streaming Video icon FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection - Collection of streaming historical events captured on film.

Streaming Video icon National Theatre (UK) - Access to 30 filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.