Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to WVC Library: List of Databases

Search West Valley College Databases

To access the West Valley databases you must use your school email address. Instructions can be found here.





Also see the West Valley College Library Hompage or the the full OneSearch Interface

Magazine, Newspaper, Scholarly Journal, and Reference Articles

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
Scholarly journal, magazine & newspaper articles.

Academic OneFile (Gale OneFile)
1980-present. Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, theology, literature and other subjects.

Gale in Context: College
Full-text popular newspapers and periodicals like The Economist, The New York Times, National Geographic, Newsweek, Popular Science, Smithsonian. Images, videos, and audio selections that include archival film clips, broadcast video, BBC News, New York Times video, and NPR.

Gale OneFile
Peer reviewed, full text scholarly content. Covers the physical and social sciences, technology, medicine, engineering, the arts, technology, literature, and many other subjects.

Gale OneFile: News
Full-text newspaper access to more than 2,300 major U.S. regional, national, and local newspapers, and some leading titles from around the world. It also includes thousands of images, radio and TV broadcasts and transcripts.

JSTOR 
Scholarly journal, magazine & newspaper articles. Includes essentials and Lives of Literature. Access to JSTOR free resources also available.

Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
Full-text major newspaper articles.

Credo Reference
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, thesauri, quotations, 200,000+ images and audio files.

New York Times 
World-class journalism to enhance society by creating, collecting and distributing high-quality news and information. If using New York Times for the first time or need information on how to create an account/login use the New York Times Guide

Wall Street Journal
West Valley College students, faculty and staff members now have free access to Wall Street Journal website and app. The WVC Library has a subscription that gives members of the WVC community full access to the content on the WSJ.com website. Users can also use their mobile devices to access the Wall Street Journal.

World News Digest 
World news coverage since 1940.

Literary Resources, Biographies, and Philosophy

Informe Académico (Gale OneFile)
Full-text scholarly journals and periodicals in Spanish and Portuguese. Informe Académico proporciona acceso a periódicos y revistas especializadas de lengua española y portuguesa.

Biography Reference Center (EBSCO)
Biographical reference collections and magazines.

Biography (Gale In Context)
Over 600,000 biographical reference collections and magazines. Find people based on occupation, role, or historical period, or search based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places.

Communications and Mass Media (Gale OneFile)
Over 400 journals on all aspects of the communications field, including advertising, public relations, linguistics, and literature.

Gale Literature: Book Review Index
Reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape and electronic media representing a wide range of popular, academic and professional interests.

Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)
Literary criticism, plot summaries & biographies.

Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Literary criticism, topic overviews, literary movements, plot summaries & biographies.

LitFinder (Gale)
Full-text national and international poems, short stories, speeches, and plays.

Religion and Philosophy (Gale OneFile)
More than 250 full text journals covering topics of philosophies and religions in one comprehensive collection. Researchers will gain valuable insight about the impact religion has had on culture throughout history, including literature, arts, and language.

Ethnic Studies and Gender Studies

American Indian Experience
Reference, primary sources & authoritative articles.

Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile)
Full-text journals, magazines, newspapers, and other resources providing coverage of issues that influence women's lives across the globe. Current and historically relevant content on topics including civil rights, health, education, and more.

Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile)
Over 2.7 million articles from 150 journals exploring cultural differences, contributions and influences in the global community.

Gender Studies (Gale OneFile)
Full-text journals and periodicals covering Women's, Men's, and Queer Studies, sexual behavior surveys, family & marital issues, conversion therapy, gay & lesbian rights, health aspects, and other issues.

World Scholar: Latin America And The Caribbean (Gale)
Primary sources, reference sources, multimedia, and newspaper articles on Covering Latin America culture and society from the fifteenth century to the present day.

Issues

CQ Researcher
In-depth, unbiased coverage of "hot issues."

Facts on Files 
"Hot issues" and newspapers since 1940.

Global Issues in Context (Gale)
Today's world issues from a global perspective.

Point of View Reference Center (EBSCO)
In-depth, unbiased coverage of "hot issues."

Opposing Viewpoints (Gale In Context)
Includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more.

eBooks and Streaming Videos

Feature Films for Education
Collection of educational, blockbuster, animations, foreign, and classic films from Films on Demand. Titles within the collection offer full public performance rights and copyright protection for curriculum classroom screenings.

National Theater
Access to 30 filmed live performances, film adaptations, and audio plays.

Films on Demand
Academic, vocational, and life skills videos in Humanities and Sciences.

FMG Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
Collection of streaming historical events captured on film.

EBSCO eBook Collection
Full text books online across a variety of topics.

Ebook Central (ProQuest)
Full text books online covering various subjects. 

Safari Technical Books Online
Collection of technical and software/application textbooks. If using Safari Technical Books Online for the first time or need information on how to create an account/login use the O’Reilly Safari eBooks Instruction Guide.

Art, Music, and Architecture

Artstor
Over two million images from 280 collections support teaching and research.

Fine Arts and Music Collection (Gale OneFile)
More than 250 journals and periodicals covering topics of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Gardening and Horticulture (Gale OneFile)
Over 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles from Delmar, including Handbook of Flowers; Foliage and Creative Design; Computer Graphics for Landscape Architects; and more.

Grove Art Online
Dictionary of Art & Oxford Companion to Western Art.

International Bibliography of Theater and Dance
Scholarly journal, and magazine articles.

Oxford Music Online
Scholarly journal, and magazine articles.

World Images from SJSU
Free access to the California State University IMAGE Project. Includes approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery.

Business, Economics, Computer Science, Communication, Demographics, and Statistics

Business (Gale OneFile)
Business resource for the undergraduate researcher seeking company news. Full-text coverage of all business disciplines including accounting, economics, finance, marketing, management, and strategy, as well as business theory and practice.

Business Insights: Global (Gale)
Company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, chronologies and periodicals, case studies, country profiles, statistical data, market research reports, news articles, academic journals and reference materials organized by country, company and industry.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Scholarly journal, magazine & newspaper articles.

Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse. 

Computer Science (Gale OneFile)
Over 600 journals and periodicals, providing information on computer-related product introductions, news and reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering, communications, and the application of technology.

Country Watch
Demographics, health, education & cultural indicators

Economics and Theory (Gale OneFile)
Full-text academic journals and magazines for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, and researching rates.

Entrepreneurship (Gale OneFile)
Full-text trade periodicals periodicals covering industry issues, success stories, trends, ideas, and tips.

Entrepreneurial Studies Source (EBSCO)
Magazine articles and reference sources.

History and Administration of Justice

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
Scholarly journal and magazine articles.

Criminal Justice (Gale OneFile)
Full-text articles covering law, law enforcement, or terrorism, training for paralegal service, preparing for a career in homeland security, delving into forensic science, investigating crime scenes, and developing policy.

LegalTrac (Gale OneFile)
Full-text legal journals, legal news, law reviews, and Bar Association journals. Coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

Military and Intelligence (Gale OneFile)
Scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and present military affairs. Includes subject areas such as, governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

Pop Culture Studies (Gale OneFile)
Scholarly journals and magazines that both analyze and contribute to popular culture.

U.S History (Gale OneFile)
Primary sources, reference sources, multimedia, and newspaper articles on U.S. events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people.

War and Terrorism (Gale OneFile)
Periodical resources with insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale.

World History (Gale In Context)
A chronicle of the ancient worlds of people, cultures, events, and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Users can browse by religions, economic constructs, biographies, civilizations, eras, political movements and more.

World History (Gale OneFile)
Scholarly journals and magazines offering coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.

Science, Health, and Medicine

Environmental Studies and Policy (Gale OneFile)
Environmental Studies and Policy Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources covering environmental issues and policies.

Gale Health and Wellness
Full-text medical journals, magazines, reference works, and multimedia covering health-related issues, from current disease and disorder information to in-depth coverage of alternative medical practices.

GREENR (Global Reference on the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources)
Scholarly and news articles, statistics, multimedia, and primary sources on emerging green technologies, issues on the environment, sustainability and more

Health and Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Full-text periodicals, reference books, pamphlets, and hundreds of videos demonstrating medical procedures and live surgeries.

MedlinePlus
Information on diseases, conditions & wellness issues.

Nursing and Allied Health (Gale OneFile)
Full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information.

Psychology (Gale OneFile)
Academic journals and magazines covering the fields of physical therapy, physical fitness, and sports medicine providing information, including proven treatment techniques, experimental research, and more.

Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine (Gale OneFile)
Authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology

PubMed
U.S. National Institutes of Health's journal articles.

Science (Gale)
Full-text articles with disciplines related to real-world issues that include national and global publications, 200+ science experiments, 300+ interactive simulations, other multimedia, and top reference content. Disciplines covered: biology, chemistry, earth and environmental science, physics, and more.

Science Reference Center
Full-text reference sources and articles.

Today's Science
Science news & interviews written for students.

Education and Careers

College Catalogs
2-year, 4-year, graduate, professional & international.

Educator's Reference Complete (Gale)
Over 1,100 full-text periodicals covering technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing issues and insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy in pre-school to higher education institutions.

Job and Career Accelerator (EBSCO)
Collection of job search and career exploration tools

Vocational Studies Complete (EBSCO)
Full-text information for vocational programs.

Vocations and Careers (Gale OneFile)
Content access to journals and magazines that aid users in researching a vocation, finding an appropriate institution of learning, job searching, and maintaining a career. Offers hundreds of current and applicable periodicals, from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

Citations Help

NoodleTools
Create citations, bibliographies and outlines. For more information on how to set up your account, create projects, and build bibliographies in NoodleTools please use the NoodleTools Guide.

Other Databases

Agriculture (Gale OneFile)
Collection of more than 600 current and authoritative journals and periodicals that spans the industry—from practical aspects of farming to cutting-edge scientific research in horticulture.

Chilton Library
Automotive repair information

Culinary Arts (Gale OneFile)
More than 250 major cooking and nutrition magazines, as well as book reference content from Delmar such as About Wine, Introduction to Catering, Advanced Bread and Pastry, and Eat Fit Be Fit.

Hospitality and Tourism (Gale OneFile)
Access to current scholarly journals and periodicals that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. Provides  the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries, state parks and information on planning a vacation to full-text travel guides from Fodor's.

Information Science (Gale OneFile)
Nearly 100 leading industry journals, this collection provides current and accurate information for the information professional. Coverage includes such topics as data processing techniques, metadata architectures, and more.

Legal Reference Center (EBSCO)
Legal reference and forms for the general public