It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
West Valley College Library Subscription Databases
Your WVC email address is needed to access all of the databases.
Why search here? Search CQ Researcher to browse hot and debatable subjects. The database allows for you to narrow down to topics that are of interest to you and your research. Articles may also provide a debate between two experts in the field of study.
What's included? Weekly reports and analysis of controversial topics of today and yesterday. Each issue provides a comprehensive overview and background essay, data tables and graphs, chronology, pro-con starter, and list of major research and advocacy groups. Includes extensive lists of sources and hot-linked footnotes throughout.
Why search here? Start your research here for unfamiliar subjects or to gather background information.
What's included? Access to a full-text digital reference library containing all types of reference books: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of quotations.
Credo Reference provides Topic Pages, which offer background information on a particular topic that can give you an entry point and guidance you continue your research; Access to hundreds of in-depth subject encyclopedias and other reference works covering every major subject; and Mind Maps that visually show relationships between topics and keywords with direct links to resources to help you understand adjacent or related topics.
Why search here? Search here for historical or current information from a world renowned newspaper.
What's included? Our academic site license to The New York Times grants individual users access to, interactive media (graphics, charts, maps, polls, custom content), video library (spanning all sections), NYT app for mobile devices. You will need to create an account to gain the New York Times Pass. The Pass will be good for one year. After one year you will need to recreate an account.
Personal account needed through WVC Library: One year
Why search here? NoodleTools is a research paper organizer that allows you to build and format MLA, APA, and Chicago style bibliographies or annotated bibliographies.
What's included? NoodleTools allows you to create complete citations and build a formatted bibliography. NoodleTools also provides hundreds of source types for each style guide to allow you to create the most complete citations.
Personal account needed through WVC Library: Duration of WVC enrollment