_____________________________________________________________________________
The following is a list of library databases (or collections of articles, music, images, and other resources that West Valley Library subscribes to, and that students may access for free) that students studying Music History may find most helpful. Have you student ID ready if you are logging in from off-campus.
Grove Music Online (Oxford)
Music encyclopedia, with coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Scholarly journal, magazine & newspaper articles.
Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
Full-text major newspaper articles.
Credo
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, thesauri, quotations, 200,000+ images and audio files.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
Literary criticism, topic overviews, literary movements, plot summaries & biographies.
You may also browse this full list of library databases offered by West Valley Library.
_____________________________________________________________________________
The American record guide by The following is a list of online journals and magazines available in the library that cover Music History. Have you student ID ready if you are logging in from off-campus.
Articles, profiles, book and music reviews, notes on upcoming events, and recordings on all aspects of Early Music for enthusiasts and a general audience.
Crosscurrents -- Journal of Ancient Music, Pre-history, Archaeology & Origins
Music science, the arts, history, issues of ecology & environment, war & peace, science & society
Professional or scholarly articles in the areas of music bibliography, music librarianship, the music trade, discography and certain aspects of music history; book and music reviews, lists of books recently published and lists of music received.
Covers topics such as music history and theory, ethnomusicology, music sociology, aesthetics, pedagogy and therapy.
Provides reviews of classical music in the UK.
Focuses on the life of Bach & his circle in the Baroque era.
Concerned with music theory, critical theory, music history and the cognitive sciences.
Accessing the WVC Library online subscription databases is easy! If you are on campus, click on any of the database links from the database webpage and you are automatically authenticated. If you are off campus you will be directed to a login page. Your login information is your last name and your student ID number.
The Discovery Search Tool searches all library content: books, e-books, scholarly articles, magazines. This video shows you how to limit your search to articles.