Start by clicking on the Library link in your Canvas course. This will take you to the List of Databases where you can search for articles.
Scroll down to the "Issues" databases. These are great for gathering background knowledge on your topic. Try several to see what you can find and look for reports within the last 5 years.
Below are instructions on how to search Facts on File:
_____________________________________________________________________________
Watch this video to get an understanding of how databases work and how to brainstorm keywords and synonyms when you search a database like Academic Search Complete (below).
After gathering background knowledge from one of the "Issues" databases, visit Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) to search for magazine and scholarly journal articles. It is the first database listed at the top of the Databases page:
Here's a video that specifically reviews how to search the Academic Search Complete database.
_____________________________________________________________________________
For your research assignment, you will need to gather both scholarly articles and popular magazine articles. Scholarly articles are also called "academic journal articles" or "peer-reviewed articles". These names are all synonyms of one another.
Popular magazines are also called periodicals because they are published on a weekly or monthly basis whereas most scholarly journal articles are published quarterly or annually.
| Criteria | Scholarly Journal | Popular Magazine |
|---|---|---|
| Sample Cover |  |
 |
| Content |
In-depth, primary account of original findings with the goal of scholarly communication. |
Secondary discussion of someone else's research; general information; personal narratives; to entertain or inform. |
| Audience | Scholars, researchers, students | General public, non-specialists |
| Author | Author has subject expertise (usually a PhD) in the field of research. Credentials are usually provided. | Author is frequently a journalist paid by the publication to write the article. May or not be a subject expert. |
| References (Works Cited) | With the exception of editorials, all articles have a references list at the end of the article. | Very rare. There may be links to other resources for further reading. |
| Language | High level of disciplinary jargon. | Vocabulary for the general reader. Easy enough for someone with an interest in the topic to understand |
| Graphics | Graphs, charts and tables. Few photographs. | Glossy advertising, photographs and graphs and charts to show easily understandable data. |
| Review | Evaluated by peer-reviewers or experts in the field. Edited for content, format and style. | Evaluated by editorial staff, not experts in the field. Edited for format and style. |