Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 1A (Lerma)

Find Articles (Databases)

The library's Databases (Find Articles) page is a good place to start your research.

From the WVC homepage, click on Library (1), then click on Databases (Find Articles) (2) from the left navigation bar:

Gathering Background Information

CQ Researcher and Facts on File are just two of the databases to gather background knowledge on your topic.  You will find them under the "Pro/Con" category under the "All Database Types" pull-down:

choosing Pro/Con databases on the Find Articles (Databases) page

Other Pro/Con databases in this category are:

  • Points of View Reference Center
  • Global Issues in Context
  • Opposing Viewpoints

Below are instructions on how to search CQ Researcher and Facts on File:

_____________________________________________________________________________

CQ Researcher

Facts on File

Articles

After gathering background knowledge from one of the Pro/Con databases, visit Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) to search for magazine and scholarly journal articles. It is the second database listed on the main Databases (Find Articles) page:

                       list of databases. Academic Search Complete is highlighted.

 

Here's a video that specifically reviews how to search the Academic Search Complete database.

_____________________________________________________________________________

Academic Search Complete: Basic Search

Popular v. Scholarly Articles

For your research assignment, you will need to gather both scholarly articles and popular magazine articles. Scholarly articles are also called "academic journal articles" or "peer-reviewed articles". These names are all synonyms of one another.

Popular magazines are also called periodicals because they are published on a weekly or monthly basis whereas most scholarly journal articles are published quarterly or annually.

Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines (Periodicals)
Criteria Scholarly Journal Popular Magazine
Sample Cover cover of scholarly journal cover of Time magazine
Content

In-depth, primary account of original findings with the goal of scholarly communication.

Secondary discussion of someone else's research; general information; personal narratives; to entertain or inform.
Audience Scholars, researchers, students General public, non-specialists
Author Author has subject expertise (usually a PhD) in the field of research. Credentials are usually provided. Author is frequently a journalist paid by the publication to write the article. May or not be a subject expert.
References (Works Cited) With the exception of editorials, all articles have a references list at the end of the article. Very rare. There may be links to other resources for further reading.
Language High level of disciplinary jargon. Vocabulary for the general reader. Easy enough for someone with an interest in the topic to understand
Graphics Graphs, charts and tables. Few photographs. Glossy advertising, photographs and graphs and charts to show easily understandable data.
Review Evaluated by peer-reviewers or experts in the field. Edited for content, format and style. Evaluated by editorial staff, not experts in the field. Edited for format and style.