Skip to main content

Technology Lending @ WVC Library: Cameras

The Technology Lending Program provides access to cameras, microphones, green screens and a number of other accessories to help you succeed in your class projects.

Digital Cameras

photo of Lumix GMc-D7The Panasonic Lumix DMC-G7 is a true hybrid mirrorless camera that blends 4K UHD video with advanced still capture and burst shooting capabilities.

Camera Specification Highlights:

--16MP Four Thirds CMOS Sensor

--4K (UHD) video at up to 100Mbps, 30p/25p + 24p

--4K Photo mode with 'Pre-Burst' mode

--Fully-articulated touch screen

--Wi-fi for remote shooting and image transfer

 

Streaming Video icon   G4 (andG7) Training Tutorial: https://youtu.be/IV12EHcmXNc  [1.18.01] by Tony & Chelsea Northup.

 

Photo of Lumix FZ80 cameraThe Panasonic Lumix FZ80  is a 4K Point and Shoot Long Zoom Camera with 18.1 Megapixels.

Camera Specification Highlights:

--18.1 MP 1/2.3" MOS sensor

--4K (UHD) video at 30p

--20-1200mm equiv. F2.8-5.9 lens

--3" fixed LCD touchscreen and Touchpad AF

Loading ...

Digital Camcorders

The Panasonic HC-VX981K is 4K Ultra HD Camcorder with Wi-Fi Twin Camera and 4K photo features.

Camcorder Specification Highlights:

     --18 megapixel 1/2.3” backlit CMOS sensor

     --4K video at 30 fps (MP4 only)

     --1080p HD video at 60 fps (AVCHD and MP4)

     --20x optical zoom

 

Action Cameras

The GoPro Hero5 Black action camera is part of the GoPro family of sports genre cameras. The library also lends several types of accessories and mounts that you may borrow.

Camera Specification Highlights:

--4K video at 30fps and 12MP photos (4000 x 3000px)

--RAW and WDR photo modes

--GPS location tags to EXIF metadata

--Battery life: 1220 mAh

 

Streaming Video icon  Hero 5 Black Quick Start Guide: https://youtu.be/sPGC8op_0nE  [3.34]

Reference Book Hero 5 Black User Manual by GoPro [PDF]

The GoPro Hero5 Session is an entry level GoPro camera released at the same time as the Hero5 Black. The Session is a more compact camera which can be beneficial to the videographer. It does not have GPS capture data nor does it collect in RAW format.  It differs from the Hero Black in other areas: photo resolution and battery life.

Camera Specification Highlights:

--4K video at 30fps

--Photo Resolution: 10MP

--Battery Life: 1000 mAh

Streaming Video icon   Hero 5 Session Quick Start Guide: https://youtu.be/DjgzhsS3f8I [3.38]

Reference Book  Hero 5 Session User Manual by GoPro [PDF]

 

Name Photo Description WVC call no.
Casey Case GoPro case When you check out the GoPro camera, you will need this item as well. TechLoan Casey Case
Combo cable GoPro cables The Combo Cable connects through the camera's USB port, enabling composite video output, as well as 3.5mm mic input and USB connectivity. TechLoan Combo Cable
Curved + flat adhesive mounts Attach the GoPro to curved and flat surfaces with these industrial-strength waterproof adhesive mounts. Can be removed by heating the adhesive bond with a hair dryer then peeling off the mount. GoPro Curved Plus Flat Adhesive Mounts
Dual battery charger & battery Hero 5 battery charger Hero 5 Black charger. Includes Dual Battery Charger (HERO5 Black), 2 Rechargeable Batteries (HERO5 Black) and USB-C Cable  TechLoan GoPro Dual Battery Charger and Battery
Gooseneck GoPro Gooseneck This bendable neck delivers a wide range of adjustability, making it easy to capture a wide range of perspectives. Combine it with any GoPro mount that features a quick release base, or use it on its own as a handheld camera grip. TechLoan GoPro Gooseneck
Handlebar, seatpost, pole mount GoPro handlebar mount Mount to handlebars, seatposts, ski poles and more. Compatible with all GoPro cameras. Includes Handlebar/Seatpost/Pole Mount; Large Rubber Insert ; Small Rubber Insert :Vertical Mounting Buckle; Long Thumb Screw.  TechLoan GoPro Handlebar / SeatPost / Pole Mount
Headstrap & QuickClip Includes a Head Strap and a QuickClip for a variety of head-mounting options. Fully adjustable to fit all sizes, the Head Strap can be strapped to a helmet or directly on your head. The QuickClip can be used to attach your GoPro to baseball caps, belts and more.  TechLoan GoPro Head Strap and QuickClip
Helmet front & side mount GoPro front/side mount

Includes 2 Curved Adhesive Mounts; Swivel Mount Assembly; Vertical Mounting Bukle; Long Thumb Screw.

Mount any GoPro to the front or side of helmets.

Note: When using adhesive mounts on helmets, don't mount to textured surfaces.

 TechLoan GoPro Helmet Mounts
Large tube  mount

Includes Large Tube Mount, Rubber Insert, Vertical Mounting Buckle and Long Thumb Screw.

Attach the GoPro to roll bars, railings or any tubes from 1.4 to 2.5in (3.5 to 6.35cm) in diameter.

 TechLoan GoPro Large Tube Mount  
Micro HDMI cable GoPro HDMI cable Use this Micro HDMI cable to plug your GoPro into your HDTV for stunning, smooth big-screen playback of your GoPro footage. 6' (1.8m) length.  TechLoan GoPro Micro HDMI Cable
Mic adapter (3.5mm) Capture high-quality audio when you connect an external professional-level microphone to your HERO5 Black or HERO5 Session with the Pro 3.5mm Mic Adapter.  TechLoan GoPro Pro-quality 3.5mm Mic Adapter
Instrument mount (removable)

Includes 3 Removable Instrument Mounts and 2 Replacement Adhesive Strips. Mounts must be returned; adhesive strips are single-use only. Mount your GoPro to guitars, drums, turntables, keyboards and more to capture immersive footage during practice or performance.

 TechLoan GoPro Removable Instrument Mounts
Jam adjustable music mount GoPro's The Jam is an adjustable mount used to attach your GoPro to just about any stand or instrument on stage. Includes Music Clip with 3 pieces.  TechLoan GoPro The Jam Adjustable Music Mount  
Tripod mount(2) Includes Tripod Mount and Quick Release Tripod Mount. Attach the GoPro to any standard tripod using the Tripod Mount or the Quick Release Tripod Mount. Also includes a lightweight Mini Tripod that attaches directly to your GoPro’s frame or housing.  TechLoan GoPro Tripod Mounts
Hero Session standard frame Frame for GoPro Session The Standard Frame makes it easy to attach the HERO Session to any GoPro mount to create a wide array of compact gear setups. Includes Standard Frame, Mounting Buckle, Short Thumb Screw. TechLoan GoPro Std Frame
Hero 5 Black frame Hero 5 Black replacement frame Replacement frame for Hero 5 Black.  TechLoan GoPro The Frame (HERO5 Black)
Surfboard mount GoPro surfboard mounts

Dude, we have surfboard mounts. Attach the GoPro to surfboards, SUPs, kayaks and more. Includes 2 Surfboard Mounts, 2 Adhesive Anchors, 2 Camera Tethers, FCS Male Plug Mount and Locking Plug.

Note:  Don't mount to soft-top boards as they are porous and the mount will not adhere properly.

 TechLoan GoPro Surfboard Mounts
       

 

Here are some resources that discuss the differences between the two GoPros:

Website icon

GoPro Hero5 Black vs. GoPro Hero5 Session by Have Camera Will Travel

 

Streaming Video iconGoPro Hero5 Black vs. GoPro Hero5 Session: Hands On Review by PB Tech [5.38] 

 

 

Loading ...