Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Faculty Resources

The New York Times

New York Times Subscriptions via WVC Library

_____________________________________________________________

For West Valley Faculty:

Engage and inspire your students by using The New York Times in your course. Explore The Times’ growing library of curated content from influential educators around the world. This resource includes sample lesson plans, instructional strategies and classroom teaching ideas.

To set up your account, go to http://nytimesineducation.com. Click “Register Now” in the upper right hand corner, then follow the instructions to create your complimentary account. Note that you must use your westvalley.edu email to register.
 
For instructional strategies, click on "Teacher Resources" at the top right, then "General Instructional Strategies."
 
If you would like a demonstration and/or additional ideas on how to use this subscription with your students, please contact Maryanne Mills and she will work with the New York Times rep to set up a meeting and/or workshop.

Accessing New York Times

_____________________________________________________________

 

 

New York Times Logo

All West Valley College students, faculty and staff have full complimentary access to NYTimes.com* and NYT mobile apps**, thanks to the West Valley College Library college-wide NYTimes.com Pass* subscription. We encourage you to take advantage of the world-class journalism of The New York Times to enrich your educational experience. Once you register for an account you will have searchable access to articles, videos, blogs, features, interviews, obituaries, and columns.

Note: If you are already registered at NYTimes.com as a non-paying registered user, select "Log in to continue" on the registration page to link your account to the one sponsored by West Valley College Library.

To activate your free access to the New York Times, you must use the West Valley College NYTimes.com Pass link from this page.

If you are off campus you will be prompted to enter your name and West Valley College ID number. Once you activate your account, you can access your account on NYTimes.com, INYT.com and NYT mobile apps from any location, on or off campus.

1. Click on NYTimes.com Pass.
            Note: If you get a security error or "Your connection is not private" message,
            click on Advanced or Continue and proceed/accept as this is a safe connection/site.

2. Create your free account (You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen).

Your account will be active for one year from the date you register. Once your account expires, you will need to use the NYTimes.com Pass link on this page to reactivate it.

Download your NYT apps by visiting nytimes.com/mobile.

-----------------------------------------------------------------
*Does not include e-reader editions, Times Insider content or digital versions of The New York Times Crossword. This program provides only select access to The New York Times Archive and does not replace database services to which your institution may currently subscribe. Other restrictions apply.

**Mobile apps are not supported on all devices.

Overview and Features

_____________________________________________________________

New York Times On Different Devices

NYTimes.com is a multi-platform news tool that provides full access to New York Times and International New York Times content, including breaking news, multimedia, reviews and opinion, blogs, videos and more. NYTimes.com is updated 24/7 with corresponding time stamps.

From the home page, one can access more than 25 Times sections, including World, Politics, New York, Opinion, Business, Technology, Science, Sports, Arts, Fashion & Style, and Video. In addition, you will be able to share content on social networks, save articles of interest, subscribe to email newsletters and set up personalized alerts. Your access to NYTimes.com is available from any location, on or off campus.

NYTimes en Español is free for all readers. It contains original journalism in Spanish, plus translated New York Times articles.

Today’s Paper

Today’s Paper section allows the user to read all of the current day’s print content in a digital format. Contained in this section are all of the articles found in that day’s print edition (along with corresponding page numbers).

Newsletters, Alerts & Times Wire

NYTimes.com provides 30+ daily and weekly newsletters on topics such as Top Headlines, Breaking News, Small Business, Movies Update, and Cooking, delivered directly to the user’s inbox. Its most recent, ‘What We’re Reading’ email newsletter features a roundup of great reads from around the web, chosen by New York Times reporters and editors. Custom alerts can also be created to monitor when specific keywords appear in NYTimes.com. Times Wire is a continuous stream of the latest articles and blog posts published on NYTimes.com.

Historical Coverage & Searchable Access

NYTimes.com Pass institutional subscription provides full access to New York Times articles published between 1851 through 1922, and between 1981 through current day. Access to the years 1923-1980 is limited for institutional subscribers. Once you register for an account you will have searchable access to articles, videos, blogs, features, interviews, obituaries, and columns. NYTimes.com features a single search box with result-filtering that includes date range, result type (article vs. blog), section, author and the ability to search on ‘images only.’

Safari Books Heading

Safari Books

Safari Books

O’Reilly Safari Books is open to all West Valley and Mission College students, faculty and staff. A valid student or faculty/staff email address is required. Students will need to use their West Valley-Mission student email address to access O’Reilly Safari eBooks, see For Students page. Faculty and Staff, use the For Instructors & Staff page.

Setting Up Student West Valley College Email

____________________________________________________________

Follow the steps below to create your West Valley - Mission Student email address. These instructions are taken from the the WVM Portal Page (https://web.wvm.edu/)

  1. Follow instructions for accessing your student email here.
  2. Sign in to your Portal Account to access your WVM email account.

If you have trouble signing into the Portal, contact IS_help.desk@wvm.edu

Setting Up Safari Accounts

____________________________________________________________

To create an account, follow the directions below. O’Reilly Safari Books is open to all West Valley and Mission College students, faculty and staff.

  1. Go to O’Reilly Safari Books https://www.safaribooksonline.com/library/view/temporary-access/
  2. Choose "Not Listed? Click Here" when asked to Select Your Institution.
  3. Enter your West Valley-Mission emaill address (userID@mywvm.wvm.edu).
    NOTE: You'll have access immediately, but you'll need to validate your account
  4. Validate Account: O’Reilly Safari will send an email in about 20 minutes
  5. Select the link in the email to validate your email address and create a password
  6. Once you have a validated account, Sign In to O’Reilly Safari Books on or off-campus here.