Kirby Ferguson on remixing
Is it plagiarism or creativity?
West Valley College Policy
Students Rights and Responsibilities
When a student is charged with plagiarism or cheating related to a class, and the instructor has reasonable proof or documentation or the student admits the violation, the instructor may select one or more of the following options:
- Issue an oral or written notification and warn the student that further acts of this sort will result in additional disciplinary action.
- Issue a failing grade (“F”) or “0” for the assignment in question.
- Refer the student to the CSSO for disciplinary action.
Source: 2013-2014 West Valley College Catalog, p.181. http://www.westvalley.edu/documents/catalog/2013-2014_WVC_Catalog.pdf
Writing Help for Students
The Writing Center is an open computer lab where students can get help with writing assignments for any class at WVC. Peer tutors and English faculty members are available to help you succeed. Open lab hours and one-on-one tutoring are available.
With an LS110E referral form signed by an instructor or counselor, students can receive free assistance with any writing assignment, outline or project for any class.
Spring 2014 Hours of Operation
|Open Lab Hours||Face-to-Face Tutoring|
|Mondays 8:30am-5:30pm||Mondays 11am - 3:30pm|
|Tuesdays 8:30am - 5:30pm||Tuesdays 9:30am - 4:00pm|
|Wednesdays 8:30am - 5:30pm||Wednesdays 10am - 4:30pm|
|Thursdays 8:30am - 5:00pm||Thursdays 11am - 4pm|
These handouts might be good to post on Angel or hand out in class.
West Valley College Student Academic Conduct - http://www.westvalley.edu/library/wvc-academic-integrity.pdf
Preventing Plagiarism for students (Turnitin.com) - http://www.westvalley.edu/library/preventing_plagiarism_students.pdf
Information Ethics Handout for WVC students - http://www.westvalley.edu/library/information_ethics_handout.pdf
Suggested Wording for Faculty Green Sheets
Dishonesty includes but is not limited to in-class cheating, out-of-class cheating, plagiarism, knowingly assisting another student in cheating or plagiarism, or knowingly furnishing false information to College staff, faculty, administrators or other officials. When a student is charged with plagiarism or cheating related to a class, and the instructor has reasonable proof or documentation or the student admits the violation, the instructor may select one or more of the following options:
a. Issue an oral or written notification and warn the student that further acts of this sort will result in additional disciplinary action.
b. Issue a NP or a failing grade (“F”) or “0” for the assignment in question.
c. Refer the student to the CSSO for disciplinary action.
See page 181 of the college catalog for more information.
Resources for Faculty
The best way to educate students on how to avoid plagiarism is to schedule a library orientation! Librarians can tailor orientations to address a specific assignment and we can dedicate time in the session to give students hands-on research practice. Go to the Orientations page to schedule a session today. Other resources include:
- Center for Academic Integrity - http://academicintegrity.org/index.php. The International Center for Academic Integrity works to identify, affirm, and promote the values of academic integrity among students, faculty, teachers, and administrators. This website contains information about the Center and its activities, with a members area hosting resources and information about ICAI projects and a ListServ for exchanging ideas and information.
- Avoiding Plagiarism, Purdue Online Writing Lab - http://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/589/1/ . Purdue University's Writing Lab has a section devoted to combatting plagiarism which includes excersizes for students to test their citing and paraphrasing knowledge.
- UC Davis, Student Judicial Affairs. Publications - http://sja.ucdavis.edu/publications.html. A collection of student tip sheets on how to avoid plagiarism as well as advice to faculty on how to prevent all sorts of cheating. While it is specifically written with the UCD faculty in mind, there are several documents with advice all faculty can use.
- Cheating 101 - http://www.coastal.edu/library/presentations/papermil.html . Librarians from Kimbel Library at Coastal Carolina University created this page from comments made to them by faculty and students regarding the availability and use of term paper sites.
Web Sites to Share with your Students
- "You Quote it, You Note it!" Interactive Plagiarism Tutorial from Acadia University - http://library.acadiau.ca/tutorials/plagiarism/. A fun tutorial to assign your students. Students get to pick a character and work through the research and writing process. This particular one is a favorite of Library 4 instructors.
- All about Plagiarism - http://www.lib.utexas.edu/services/instruction/learningmodules/plagiarism/index.html . Short video on famous people/institutions that have plagiarized as well as a tutorial and other tools created by the University of Texas at Austin.
Here you will find tips and services on how to detect plagiarism.
- Turnitin.com - http://turnitin.com/ The college subscribes to this service where your students "turn in" their assignments to check to see if they have been plagiarized. Students then get the opportunity to correct their mistakes. Contact Max Gault for an account at firstname.lastname@example.org or 408-741-2627.
- West Valley College Library's Databases - http://www.westvalley.edu/library/databases/index.html . Databases such as Academic Search Premier offer full-text searching. Using quotations to search phrases, it is possible to identify if passages came from any of the full-text materials contained in the database.
- Google - http://www.google.com/ . As the most comprenhensive search engine on the internet, Google is a powerful tool for finding plagiarized passages. Search phrases by putting quotation marks around a passage.
- Soovle - http://soovle.com/ . Soovle allows a phrase to be searched in a number of different search engines. Toggle between the icons of each of the search engines to automatically search the passage.
The following articles can be obtained by searching Academic Search Premier at http://www.westvalley.edu/library/databases/index.html if a link is not provided.
- Alberts, Heike C., Helen D. Hazen, and Rebecca B. Theobald. "Classroom Incivilities: The Challenge Of Interactions Between College Students And Instructors In The US." Journal Of Geography In Higher Education 34.3 (2010): 439-462. Academic Search Premier. Web. 17 May 2013.
- East, Julianne, and Lisa Donnelly. "Taking Responsibility For Academic Integrity: A Collaborative Teaching And Learning Design." Journal Of University Teaching And Learning Practice 9.3 (2012): ERIC. Web. 22 May 2013. <http://www.eric.ed.gov/PDFS/EJ996016.pdf>.
- Gilmore, Barry. "Write From Wrong." Independent School 69.3 (2010): 106-113. Academic Search Premier. Web. 22 May 2013.
- Lea, Mary R., and Sylvia Jones. "Digital Literacies In Higher Education: Exploring Textual And Technological Practice." Studies In Higher Education 36.4 (2011): 377-393. ERIC. Web. 22 May 2013.
- Ryesky, Kenneth H. "Part Time Soldiers: Deploying Adjunct Faculty The War Against Student Plagiarism." Brigham Young University Education & Law Journal 1 (2007): 119-151. Academic Search Premier. Web. 17 May 2013.