Research Guides: Fashion Design: Websites

Journals and Newspapers on the Free Web

__________________________________________________

Apparel Magazine Business & technology resource for executives working at apparel manufacturers and retailers
California Apparel News The voice of California's apparel industry since 1945.
FN - Footwear News Shoe magazine bringing you the latest in shoe industry business, trends, runway and street fashion as well as key influencers.
just-style.com Global apparel, textile, and footwear industry news, analysis and research.
Made To Measure: the Uniforms, Footwear & Gear Magazine Uniform and career apparel industry magazine
The New York Times, Fashion and Style page provides ongoing fashion and style news and reviews,

Recommended Websites

__________________________________________________

Cotton Incorporated Market research, agricultural, sourcing information and more
Ecouterre Website devoted to the future of sustainable fashion design
Elle.com Popular fashion magazine
Fashiondex Guide to fabric, trims, services, contractors, manufacturers, fashion, apparel industry sources
Fashion Capital the United Kingdom's leading fashion portal
Fashion-Incubator Blog by the author of "The Entrepreneur's Guide to Sewn Product Manufacturing" providing the topics such as production, operations, inventory, patterns, sewing, marketing, merchandising, sourcing, and more
Fashion Windows Sections on fashion designers, visual merchandising
La Couturiere Parisienne Costume history text and images compiled by A. Bender, a German fashion scholar
Occupational Outlook Handbook-Fashion Designers Job description, outlook information, and much more
The Sartorialist Fashion blog created by photographer Scott Schuman
TED Talks on Fashion Variety of topics dealing with fashion history and industry
Vogue Online version of the popular fashion magazine
WeConnectFashion Fashion Industry resource, including directories, how to, trends, sales leads, career, events and publications

Archives, Libraries & Museums

__________________________________________________

The Henry Art Gallery's Costume and Textile Collection Unique resource to be utilized for the study of construction, design, and patter found on clothing and textiles.
The Costume Gallery Online Research Library for the History of fashion and costume
University of Wisconsin Digital Collections, All Sewn up: Millinery, Dressmaking, Clothing and Costume The digital collection includes millinery, dressmaking, clothing and costume books from the UW-Madison collections. These books from the first half of the 20th century (1907 – 1940’s) include the history of clothing, styles of dress, fashion drawing, and design and construction of hats, clothing and costumes.
The Fashion Industry: Selected References by the Library of Congress resources related to the fashion and apparel industries, including books, journals, and databases available at the Library of Congress.
New York Public Library Picture Collection costume photos by period and nationality.
National Museum of American History, Clothing and Accessories One of the nation's foremost collections of men's, women's and children's garments and accessories-from wedding gown and military uniforms to Halloween costumes and bathing suits.
The Costume Institute at the MET The collection of more than thirty-three thousand costumes and accessories represents five continents and seven centuries of fashionable dress and accessories for men, women, and children, from the fifteenth century to the present.
Museum at the Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT) one of a select group of specialized fashion museums with permanent collection encompasses some 50,000 garments and accessories from the 18th century to the present.
de Young Museum Textile Art Collect more than 14,000 textiles and costumes from traditions around the world.
Musee des Tissus (Lyon) museum in Lyon, France with the largest international collection of textiles, the holdings amounting to 2,500,000 units. The collection spans a 4,000 year period, from Antiquity to the present, and covers a wide range of techniques and all the geographical areas of the world.

Apparel Industry Organizations

__________________________________________________

American Apparel & Footwear Association National trade association which represents apparel and footwear companies in the global market.
Americas Apparel Producers Network (AAPN ) Private sector, non-profit, members-only, business network of over 600 company owners
American Sewing Guild Driven by volunteers who sponsor local special events, community service projects, membership drives, fashion shows, produce local newsletters, establish educational
California Fashion Association non-profit organization established to provide information for business expansion and growth to the apparel and textile industry in California.
Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) not-for-profit trade association of over 450 American fashion and accessory designers
SEAMS Association and Voice of the U.S. Sewn Products Industry consisting of more than 200 of America's foremost fashion brands, retailers, manufacturers and textile providers
Office of Textiles and Apparel (OTEXA) oversees programs and strategies to improve domestic and international competitiveness of the U.S. textiles, apparel footwear and travel goods industries